Superwoman!? Whoa, slow down there a second!

 

Yes, really.  I’ve been called that because I am a single mother.  I know people are trying to be complimentary and I know what they mean.  Thank you.

Humbly speaking, I only have one child!  When I think about the women with 2+ kids, I have one thing to say, “GOD BLESS YOU GIRLFRIEND!”

I knew my limitations, that’s why I stopped at one!  My cousin once asked me, “Well, don’t you think Joseph needs a playmate?”

I said, “He’ll be alright!” LOL 

Yes, I CAN RAISE JOSEPH ON MY OWN….YES, I AM EMPOWERED.  YES, I CAN MAKE A SEEMINGLY NEGATIVE SITUATION AND TURN IT INTO SOMETHING POSITIVE.  I CAN DO ALL OF THAT

However, I must say this.  If I could snap my fingers, RIGHT NOW, and there would be a loving husband by my side and a loving “father” for Joseph helping to raise him, I would get to snappin’!  Do you know why?  It’s how I was raised.  I remember the stability I felt of having both of my parents around.  My mom would be so tired after she got off of work, so my sister and I would look forward to dad coming home because at least he would play with us! LOL 

My dad was the fun one that would always play with us-mom didn’t want to be “bothered”!  I can laugh at that now, because I GET IT!  Sometimes, ya just want to be left alone!  Then when my dad wanted a break, my mom would take us shopping and to movie matinees.  Then there would be those special occasions when we would all go out together as a family!  Did your mom and dad have that “talk” with you too before you went out on a public outing? 

“Now listen up, ya’ll better act like you were raised with some decency and mind your manners!” 

I SO GET IT NOW! 

I find myself being tired a lot and my days are long.  Right now, I am able to get this blog post in because Joseph is taking a nap!  When Joseph was just a baby, I would look like I had ten piece luggage under my eyes because he NEVER slept through the night.   Do you know what else?  I had the BIGGEST WIG COLLECTION IMAGINABLE because at least I could spare the two minutes it would take to put on a wig and have a good hair day with some decency instead of looking like I just woke up on the wrong side of the bed!

When Joseph would take a nap during the day, my sister would encourage me to take a nap while he was napping and I would look at her like she was CRAZY! 

Nap?!  Who has time for that? I still have laundry I have to do, paperwork, I have cleaning to do, phone calls to make, etc. 

My sister would say, “Okay, I’m just trying to help!”  I knew she was right, so I started taking naps after awhile.  I felt better for it.

I’m working on balancing being a single mother with just being Christina because I was Christina before I was Joseph’s mom.  I know there are many mothers out there who want to give and give to their kids.  I get it. I do too.  While I am in the process of making positive changes in all areas of my life, my challenge is still finding that harmonious balance between giving to myself, Joseph and others.

Even “superwoman” needs help sometimes….

Published in: on August 31, 2010 at 1:30 AM  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://cnsmithauthor1.wordpress.com/2010/08/31/superwoman-whoa-slow-down-there-a-second/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It’s a shame that some men don’t take care of there responsibilities, when I was a young man my father told me that any little boy can make a baby, but it takes a man to raise one. What my father said stuck with me till this day, I guess that’s why I don’t have any kids right now. I have the utmost respect for all of you ladies and gentlemen out there raising children on your own. I know it’s not an easy task, but nevertheless you continue to endure the trials and tribulations of parent hood.

  2. It’s a shame that some men don’t take care of there responsibilities, when I was a young man my father told me that any little boy can make a baby, but it takes a man to raise one. What my father said stuck with me till this day, I guess that’s why I don’t have any kids right now. I have the utmost respect for all of you ladies and gentlemen out there raising children on your own. I know it’s not an easy task, but nevertheless you continue to endure the trials and tribulations of parent hood.

  3. Blessings …Don’t worry about labels, just do you and be. Everything you need is in you and everyone you encounter either come with a lesson or a reminder of things/lessons/knowledges forgotten. Take care and stay blessed

  4. Blessings …Don’t worry about labels, just do you and be. Everything you need is in you and everyone you encounter either come with a lesson or a reminder of things/lessons/knowledges forgotten. Take care and stay blessed


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

